A second 4-County Electric Power Association crew is on its way to West Florida Electric Cooperative to assist in restoring power to residents suffering in the wake of Hurricane Michael.

The employees, who left Columbus before 7 a.m. Friday, will join the recovery efforts at West Florida Electric, based in Graceville, and serving 28,000 meters in four counties. The 10-man 4-County team leaving today will relieve an 11-man team that left Oct. 17 to assist the Florida co-op. That initial team is arriving home tonight.

West Florida estimates that there were 8,500 poles damaged due to the hurricane. About 40 percent of their members remain without power. 4-County officials are unsure at this time how long the crews will assist their Florida neighbors.

The second 4-County crew includes crew leader Eric Yarbrough, Justin Murphy, Rowdy Rigdon, Curtis Collier, Myron Green, Jimmy Stewart, A.J. Jones, Willie Terry, Fred Harris and Clint Docher.

4-County has a reciprocal agreement with the other electric power cooperatives to provide help for each other in times of crisis.